A Brief History
225 King Street has been home to restaurants since 1950. Many of our customers share stories with us of the good times that they have had in the restaurant’s different incarnations over the past decades. It is something that we love to hear, and it is a legacy that we are proud to continue. This sense of Nostalgia is what we hope to evoke with our classic hearty foods and friendly service. While the names and menus have changed over the years, our commitment to serving quality homemade meals in a welcoming environment has held tight.
In the 1950’s, a small coffee shop stood at 225 King Street, only a fraction of the size of our present day restaurant. In 1955, Paul Slupecki, the new proprietor, renovated the restaurant, adding on the bar and back room area, and christening the new shop as simply “Dundas Restaurant”. For twenty years, his diner served up classic American dishes at a low cost to families and workers in the valley who would stop by on their lunch breaks or for an evening out.
In June 1969 Mrs Chester W. Mott took over the restaurant and renamed it as “Blue Mount Tavern”.
In 1974-1979, Links family owned the restaurant and brought new recipes from their native Germany.
In 1979-2011, Peter and Edeltraud Roos, took over the restaurant (re-branding it as “Schwaben Inn”)
In 2011, the new owners Vladimir and Ludmila Avdeyev transformed the restaurant into what it is today – Nostalgia Family Restaurant, mingling dishes from their native Kazakhstan with longtime favourites like schnitzel and Beef rouladen at the restaurant.
Chefs Ludmila and Esmeralda bring a combined 40 years of experience to the kitchen, having worked in traditional Portuguese, Russian and Canadian venues before coming to Nostalgia Restaurant.
Our new ownership works hard to honour the past and offer a nostalgic, family friendly space to enjoy a drink or a meal in the heart of Dundas.